Ringette History Part Two

Canadian Ringette Championships:

1979: Winnipeg, Man.

1980: Waterloo, Ont.

1981: Sudbury, Ont.

1982: Dartmouth-Cole Harbour, N.S.

1983: Sherwood Park, Alta.

1984: Port Coquitlam, B.C.

1985: Dollard des Ormeaux, Que.

1986: Regina, Sask.

1987: Kitchener, Ont.

1988: Winnipeg, Man.

1989: Fredericton, N.B.

1990: Calgary, Alta.

1991: Hull, Que.- televised by TSN

1992: Port Coquitlam, B.C.- televised by TSN

1993: Kitchener, Ont.- televised by TSN

1994: Saskatoon, Sask.

1995: Winnipeg, Man.- TSN broadcasts a one hour special

1996: Gloucester, Ont.

1997: Montreal, Que.

1998: Edmonton, Alta.- TSN broadcasts a one hour special

1999: Halifax, N.S.

2000: Prince George, B.C.- TSN broadcasts a one hour special

2001: Moncton, N.B.- TSN broadcasts a one hour special

2002: Regina, Sask.

2003: Waterloo, Ont.

2004: Calgary, Alta.

2005: Winnipeg, Man.

2006: Longueuil, Que.

2007: Halifax, N.S.

2008: St. Albert, Alta.

2009: Charlottetown, P.E.I.

2010: Saskatoon, Sask.

2011: Cambridge, Ont.

2012: Burnbay, B.C.

2013: Fredericton, N.B.

2014: Regina, Sask.

World Ringette Championships:

1990: Gloucester, Ont.

1992: Helsinki, Finland

1994: St. Paul, Minnesota

1996: Stockholm, Sweden

2000: Helsinki, Finland

2002: Edmonton, Alta.

2004: Stockholm, Sweden

2007: Ottawa, Ont.

2010: Tampere, Finland

2013: North Bay, Ont.

The 50th Anniversary was celebrated across Canada in 2013.  The Ringette Canada Hall of Fame was established in 1988.  Ringette Canada Representatives travelled to the Soviet Union, Finland, and Sweden in 1985 to promote the sport.

Canada Post issued a set of four stamps celebrating Canada’s sporting inventions including ringette, basketball, five-pin bowling, and lacrosse in 2009.  Ringette was featured on the CBC show The Rick Mercer Report in 2009.

Published by Elizabeth Merritt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.